07 March 2012

YouTube Service sent you a message: Your video has been approved


Here is an interesting email that is being sent to many people.

From: YouTube Service
To: someEmail@someDomain.com
Sent: Wednesday, March 7, 2012 11:56 AM
Subject: YouTube Service sent you a message: Your video has been approved

                                                                                       help center | e-mail options | report spam
YouTube Service has sent you a message:
Your video has been approved

You can reply to this message by visiting your inbox.

So you should not click on any links from that email because it will redirect you not to youtube but to an IP address something like:

If you navigate to that link Google Chrome will tell you that:
"Warning: Something's Not Right Here! contains content from images.motioncontrolrobotics.com, a site known to distribute malware. Your computer might catch a virus if you visit this site. ...."

So pay attention to emails like this.

Please share this page. Let people know that this is a spam message.


exinco said...

just received this kind of email. i copy and paste the address but empty youtube channel

Mizohican said...

Yup I noticed the spammy link in the mail immediately, but the sender is a genuine youtube account (service@youtube.com)! I marked it as spam, and now all my youtube mails are going to spam. How did they (the spammers) manage to do this? :(

TarAntXon said...

Have been receiving these emails for a week or so. They appear to be from YouTube and also have YT address details at the bottom of the page: © 2011 YouTube, LLC
901 Cherry Ave, San Bruno, CA 94066

I have also marked it as spam in yahoo mail but they're still coming in.
Also perpetrates to report mail as spam with fake links to: help center | e-mail options | report spam
Needless to say these links are not working and all seem to be redirecting to : http://post04.pheno.com/allophonic.html

GMB said...

Whoever is sending the message is a "MORON", to think that it will be opened by a more intelligent human ! A comlplete amateur !

Roman Gherman said...

Hi All,

I will answer to your questions / comments:
1) exinco - copy - paste is ok, because the text for the link is a fake on, however if you click on that link then it will lead you to another site.

2) Mizohican - Anybody - who knows how can send an email to you even with your email address, all that is required is a SMPT server and a little bit of programming.

3) GMB - I think that at least 70% of people who has a youtube account will click a link from there.

Thanks all for visiting my blog!!!

Christopher said...

I fell for it. :(

Luckily my anti-virus caught it.

Roman Gherman said...

Hi Christopher,

There is a proverb: "measure 7 times cut once"
I think it also could be applied when navigating on the internet :) and when clicking on links from the emails.

It's good you have a good anti-virus.

Simon Barnett said...

I have had the same issue. I have tried reporting it as both spam and phishing with no change to their frequency. In my case that's somewhat understandable because it's coming in from my Yahoo Mail, set to forward to Gmail.
However there's no trace of it on Yahoo's side, but I will try their forums too (and failing that, close my Yahoo account).

There's a report on the IP address here:

Looks somewhat malicious..

salvor1 said...

Who cares if you are receiving it too? Don't click on it? Duu -but I fell for the link to check my 'in box' which has the same link. If you run over it with your mouse it shows the redirect address on the bottom left of the window. What do we do about it?? It's always a different addr -so marking as spam does no good.

Anonymous said...

I started receving odd emails shortly after installing SWTOR, i hadent online gamed for about a year. Electronic Arts/Bioware/Origin, through accepting the EULA are given permission to track your web habbits, information on installed programs on your computer, and any newely installed software. I'm doing a fresh install of windows, the major changes the install program did on my system will not be removed when you uninstall origins software.

Anonymous said...

I turn off my HTML option in Firefox to avoid problems with HTML scripts that can sometimes add things to my computer via Active-X. When I get a message that my video has been approved by YouTube (and I did not put a video up on YopuTube), I get this:

YouTube help center
| e-mail options
| report spam

YouTube Service sent you a message:

Your video has been approved

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RIAt8ZvTzD&feature=topvideos_mp <== **
<== **

When viewing this same Email in HTML format, I get:

help center | e-mail options | report spam

YouTube Service sent you a message:
Your video has been approved

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RIAt8ZvTzD&feature=topvideos_mp <== **

The "<== **" above shows a difference in the link. In the HTML format, it shows that the link is from YouTube while in the plan text format, the link is "http://bigdiqcup.perso.sfr.fr/goodman.html".

This is how I knew that this is not real.

Anonymous said...

Unfortunately, the above note has some information cut off. The jest of the previoys Email from Anonymous is that the link given in the Email when viewed in the HTML format shows that it is from YouTube while in the plain text format, the link shows that it is from "http://bigdiqcup.perso.sfr.fr/goodman.html" (not YouTube).

sayla0079 said...

I would have fell for it if my youtube account hadn't been set up for a different e-mail account (the one I got it in won't allow youtube to come into the inbox )

Anonymous said...

I clicked on it once, and I am not a moron despite what the fellow thinks. Or even a "MORON" - all big letter and in quotes - as he stated the word. In my case, it went to some Canadian pharmacy where they try to sell you Viagra.

Anonymous said...

Your article has many differences to all the blogs I read before. It has a great information given here and I will bookmark your site because I learn very much. Thank you for posting this.


Post a Comment

your thoughts are welcome:

Need more? Leave comments and subscribe to my blog.